Fun at Theme Parks

My husband, the kids and I went to Disneyland for spring break. Needless to say, every person on earth had the same idea. I don’t know what we were thinking, honestly. Probably that this is the only free time we have to travel anywhere, the kids being in school and us adults working.

Anyway, this experience was interesting in many ways. The crowds were painful, the lack of healthy food was annoying, and the earthquake on Friday was just the icing on the cake. But we really did have fun when you take all that away…

My daughter packed up her boy clothes and baseball caps, ready for the trip. When we got there it became apparent that she was going to pass as a “he” for the entirety of the trip. She rather enjoyed this. It was a strange new experience for the rest of us. 

Bathrooms were tricky. She is old enough now that it looks funny to bring someone who appears to be a boy into the girls bathroom. I got a lot of looks and comments. Not necessarily bad, just confusing. Most waiters and park employees referred to her as my son. She liked this. I couldn’t help but realize that my daughter now passes as a boy completely. She no longer resembles a little girl in tomboy clothing. She is a boy. 

Even writing those words sound strange.

After the trip I talked to her about how she felt, living as a boy for a week. She said it was good and, since she “isn’t technically a girl” as she puts it, then its ok. I am still trying to wrap this all around my head. She amazes me with her insight and understanding of who she is. Now I just need to adjust to having a son.

Leave a comment