Girls Soccer

I took my daughter to her first soccer practice. She is at the age where there are girls leagues and boys leagues. Of course she is on the girls league.. because she is technically a girl. But she doesn’t look like a girl. I didn’t really think about this until we showed up and saw the other girls.

My daughter was wearing a boys tank top, gym shorts, a baseball cap, and the soccer gear required. The rest of the girls were in various shades of pink and red. All of their hair were pulled back in messy ponytails. This didn’t phase my kiddo but I was taken aback. She looks like a boy on an all girls team. What will the coach think? What will the other kids think? And oh my god.. the other moms?? 

I shouldn’t freak out about this. I mean really.. this is our life everyday. But something about seeing such a stark difference in genders and knowing this will be a challenge really hit me. I worried someone would say something or the other moms would ask why a boy is on their team. 

This is getting really complicated.

Leave a comment